completing mom’s guest room…$100 challenge!

We are currently camped out at my parent’s house in Connecticut while we await the closing on our new house in Florida; the big move is happening on May 12th! So naturally, I’ve decided to take on a few projects at my mom’s house while we’re here. You’d think as an interior designer herself there wouldn’t be much to do in my mom’s house, but that’s not quite the case. You know the old saying, “the shoemaker’s children have no shoes”? Well, this is a little bit like that. My mom is so busy with all of her clients (and playing with her new grandchildren!) that she hasn’t spent time completing her own house. So, this month I’m going to be helping her with her 2nd bedroom and in July when we’re back up north we’ll tackle her 3rd room.

She already has great basics, such as the beautiful gray velvet bed from Wayfair, it’s really a matter of details and finishing touches. So because of that, she didn’t want to spend much more on this room and I’ve decided to try to it all for just $100!

IMG_5571

momsguestroom

As you can see, it’s really a pretty blank canvas. In need of art, curtains, pillows, and the furniture (other than the bed) could use some freshening up too!

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 12.03.08 PM

She wants to keep it pretty soft and subtle, so we won’t be doing many bold pops of color. Just a few blue accents and then a lot of gray, white and light blue.

20140421-121046.jpg

 

In order to keep it under budget, I’ll be using this yard of sample fabric my mom had for two of the pillows.  The horse photo will be a cheap DIY, which I shared a month or so back here. The curtains will likely be from Lowe’s (Allen + Roth) or Home Depot (Martha Stewart), they actually have some very good looking, very affordable options!

Screen Shot 2014-04-21 at 12.12.11 PMBelieve it or not I found this cute number at Walmart for $14!!! Apparently, you can only find it in store. With a little paint job, this is going to be perfect.

I’m hoping to have the project finished by end of next week, so stay tuned for the completed photos!! Any other suggestions for super budget friendly options much appreciated! xoxo

 

 

2 thoughts on “completing mom’s guest room…$100 challenge!

  1. Pingback: progress report: mom’s guest room makeover ($100 challenge) | Along Came Ollie

Leave a comment