new house: the “before” photos

Well, here it is in all of its completely unfinished glory! I’m not proud to show these shots because it’s a mess and really has a long way to go, but I wanted to so that you can see and (hopefully) appreciate the full transformation. I do have big plans for this place and can’t wait to start giving you progress reports!

20140514-194856.jpg

front entry way & staircase

20140514-194913.jpg

formal living room

20140514-194902.jpg

my office

20140514-194922.jpg

powder room

20140515-083154.jpg

family/great room

20140515-083148.jpg

kitchen

20140514-194930.jpg

guest suite

20140514-073238.jpg

master

20140514-194938.jpg

pool

20140513-091613.jpg

the house!

There is also another guest room, Oliver’s room, and Gary has an office too. I’ll be doing Ollie’s room as a separate post – and the good news is, it’s almost done! I’ve made good progress on my office already this week, but there is literally so much more to do! It’s probably going to be a good 3-6 months before it starts really coming together. It’s easy to get overwhelmed when you’re a type-A perfectionist like myself so to avoid that, I’m creating a list of goals.

House Goals:

1. Complete my design plan: I showed you this concept board, but I’m still working out the details. I especially need to ensure that the house is cohesive & flows well, before I begin choosing big pieces like rugs, etc. Should be done with this by next week.

2. Prioritize rooms: once the plan is set, I am going to focus on tackling one room at a time based on which rooms are the most lived in.

3. List & prioritize projects: Once I have my room priorities, I’m going to make a list of all the projects and prioritize those. For instance, I know my office is going to be a top priority & within that art and my flea market chairs will be at the top of the projects list.

And just a taste of some of the projects I know we’ll be working on:

– kitchen renovation

– reupholstering a club chair & my two flea market chairs

– creating a ‘reading/playroom’ in the nook off of the great room

– complete my office

– window treatments for most of the house

– make a headboard for guest suite

– add color to the pool/patio with outdoor rugs & pillows

– decorate the formal living room in nautical theme

– find light fixtures for entryway & dining room

As you can see I’ve got lots to do…gonna go get started, and then it’s time to hit the beach with this little beach bum 🙂

20140515-090950.jpg

20140515-090957.jpg

 

 

7 thoughts on “new house: the “before” photos

  1. Really enjoying your posts! We’re moving into a new house in CA in Sept so I am already planning. But there’s only so much you can do before you get there. My 2 kids’ rooms will be first! I’m especially looking forward to seeing how you incorporate the play area downstairs as that takes some creativity with open floor plans. Your house is already lovely!

    • Thanks so much Cassy! Glad you like it…Yea, you can definitely get your concept together but I highly recommend waiting until you move in to finalize paint colors & make big purchases. You want to make sure its just right for your house! cheers!

  2. I totally get that type-A-want-it-all-done-now feeling. I felt exactly that way when we moved into our home. It’s so hard to pace yourself when you first move in (at least it was for me). I can’t wait to witness the journey, though! Your house has such great bones to start with. It’s going to be amazing when you’re done with it! 🙂

  3. I spent yesterday at a quilt festival and found just the right material to make you two cushion covers to fit in with your cool blue sea theme.
    What size shall I make them? xx

  4. I look at the before pictures and totally think it looks amazing just the way it is! I know you’ll add your own personal touch to it- but I just wanted to let you know, your home is beautiful 🙂

Leave a comment