My tips for easy bookshelf styling


One of my first priorities this week has been to get my office together. Thanks to my hubby’s amazing IKEA furniture assembly skills, I was able to decorate my lovely Fjalkinge shelves on Friday. I thought I would share my simple tips for styling a bookcase, as well as  a step-by-step how-to.

So before you begin styling I recommend you determine either a color scheme or theme. It could be preppy brights (like mine) or all white or a theme like “nautical.” The key to a well styled bookshelf (in my opinion) is creating a cohesive display out of a variety of items. Once you have your theme or color scheme, go around your house (or head to HomeGoods) to collect items the that you would like to display. And then, you’re ready to go!

Easy Bookshelf Styling:

1. Anchor lower shelves with storage: not only does this provide a pretty place to put unsightly things, but it also is a good space filler. Plus, then you don’t need to worry about kids or animals knocking things over!

20140515-171456.jpg

20140515-171503.jpg

2. Create stacks with books and boxes – they will be like little stages to display other items. I like to keep things symmetrical, but not the same on every shelf. Variety is good for the eye!

20140515-171509.jpg

20140515-171521.jpg

3. Next, add your large items (like vases), followed by smaller items which can be placed on and around the book stacks. Be sure to vary the height, volume and scale of items.

20140515-171515.jpg

4. Last, add art as a background and space filler. And once everything has a place, don’t be afraid to edit! Keep editing over time, until you know that it’s right.

20140518-112736.jpg

 

There you have it, my advice for bookshelf styling. Do you have any other tips and tricks? Please do share them!

Oh and p.s. – you may have noticed I skipped a post on Friday (sorry!). With the new move, decorating my entire house, and trying to get my business going, I’ve decided that I need to dial back just a little bit on the blog. I love doing it and it’s a great creative outlet for me, so I’ll definitely be keeping up with it, but now only 3x per week (Monday, Wednesday, and Friday). As soon as things are under control, I’ll ramp back up! Cheers and happy monday!

20140515-171528.jpg

outtake with the little man while i was working, he’s a fan of mommy’s office…or at least my furry rug 🙂

3 thoughts on “My tips for easy bookshelf styling

Leave a comment