nursery trends i am loving right now

As I’ve said before, nurseries are my favorite rooms to design – there really are no rules but to be fun, creative & a little bit whimsical too. Now that I’m expecting (15 weeks already!) and some close friends are as well, I am soooo excited to have some nursery projects once again.

While I’m not picking a design or theme just yet, I’ve certainly been compiling lots of inspiration via my Kiddie Spaces board on Pinterest. In doing this, I’ve noticed quite a few new trends popping up this year and I thought it would be fun to share!

7 Nursery Trends for 2014

1. Natural elements

yeah baby nursery

via Revista Glamour 

Natural elements like branches are popping up as clothing displays, mobiles and more in nurseries right now. The Young House Love crew made there own adorable mobile seen here.

2. Bohemian Style

bodie&fou

via Bodie & Fou

The california cool, Boho/hipster style has made it’s way into the nursery! What’s not to love?

3. Wallpaper Accent Walls

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 12.52.37 PM

via Des Fruits Des Fleurs etc.

I love, love, love wallpaper, but who wants to commit to an entire room of it, especially in a nursery? An accent wall is a great way to get the benefits of adorable wallpaper without the commitment or splurge.

4. Grown up rooms

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 12.57.28 PM

 

via Grey Likes Baby

A nursery with the sophistication of an NYC bachelorette pad? Grown up design is the new thing in nurseries – with the addition of soft textures & light colors, its a room baby will love now and later.

5. Teepees

teepee land of nod

via Land of Nod

Not exactly a new trend, but I love all of the DIY’s all over pinterest like this No Sew $30 Teepee from We Lived Happily Ever After blog.

6. Animal photography

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 1.07.30 PM

via Danielle Oakey Interiors

Definitely the cutest trend on the list, there’s nothing better than sweet baby animals. I love all of the work at The Animal Print Shop.

7. The modern crib

Screen Shot 2014-07-08 at 1.13.19 PM

via Domaine Home

The modern crib is undoubtedly the go-to crib design right now. Kind of kicking myself for going classic with Oliver’s 2 years ago, but we are not buying another one so I’m sticking with what I’ve got! Still, the modern crib is oh-so chic and a must for parents-to-be.

So, those are the top trends I’m seeing right now in nurseries, what about you? What’s your favorite? P.S. as I’m reviewing the photos I chose, I realized I selected all girl’s nurseries…guess I have pink on the brain! We’ll just have to see though 😉

3 thoughts on “nursery trends i am loving right now

Leave a comment